“If it’s done wrong, it can allow a malicious attacker or total jerk to take over your account… which would suck.”

Facebook’s New Security Feature Made Me Think Too Hard About Who My Real Friends Are

The biggest problem with most technological security features is the huge onus they place on the user to know what the hell they’re doing.

Facebook recently launched a security feature that spreads the responsibility of getting back into your account among a few select friends, so you can log in after losing access to your password, email, and phone number. Select at least three trustworthy people, and they’re given a URL with a code. Combine three codes correctly, and you’re allowed back in.

It’s well-documented that I can be a technological moron myself—at least when it comes to misusing well-intended security features for self-owns. This one, at first glance, seems to be another one of those cases: What if I chose unwisely? What if I don’t know my fake friends from my real friends? I’m suspicious.

Read more at Motherboard, here.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s